Tuesday, June 18, 2013

Meet Your Workshop Faculty and Staff

Burnis R. Morris, Carter G. Woodson Professor of Journalism and Mass Communications, directs the high school workshop. Professor Morris is engaged in research about Woodson, “the Father of African-American history,” and his use of the press to promote black history. In recognition of his research, Professor Morris has received several honors, including being named Marshall University’s 2011-2012 Distinguished John Deaver Drinko Academy Fellow, Emory University’s Carter G. Woodson Fellow (summer 2012) and 2011-2012 West Virginia Humanities Council Fellow. He will present a paper on Woodson in Pittsburgh at the September meeting of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History, an organization founded by Woodson in 1915. Professor Morris is known nationally for his work to improve news coverage of tax-exempt organizations, and he has received more than $1 million in grants supporting that work and other programs he created at Marshall University and the University of Mississippi to attract the best and brightest students to careers in journalism.

Sarah McIntyre is the director of United High School Media and assistant director of the high school workshop. She earned a B.A. in public relations from the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism and Mass Communications at Marshall University in 2009. She has been at the University since 2012. 

Dr. George Arnold, professor emeritus in the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism and Mass Communications at Marshall University, has 47 years' experience as a journalist and journalism educator. He worked as a news and sports reporter for eight years in Beckley and Huntington, taught high school English for three years, and taught journalism at Marshall for 36 years. A Ph.D. journalism graduate of Ohio University, Dr. Arnold has a Bachelor of Arts degree in English, social studies and journalism and a Master of Arts degree in American and European history, both from Marshall. He is author of more than 50 articles for professional and academic publications and his textbook/resource book -- Media Writer's Handbook, a Guide to Common Writing and Editing Problems, 6th edition, McGraw-Hill -- has been purchased by students and faculty at more than 300 colleges and universities. Dr. Arnold is the first recipient of Marshall University's Marshall and Shirley Reynolds Outstanding Teacher Award (1987) and was runner-up in 1995 for West Virginia professor of the year in the Faculty Merit Foundation competition. In 2008, Dr. Arnold was selected by the Marshall alumni as one of 11 top professors in the history of the university.

Two workshop sessions Writing I, Writing II.

 Dr. Charles Bailey, professor of journalism and mass communications, is faculty manager of WMUL-FM (88.1 MHz). Under Dr. Bailey’s guidance Marshall University’s radio station and its student broadcasters have won 989 awards since 1985. Dr. Bailey received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the West Virginia Associated Press Broadcasters Association (WVAPBA) during the WVAPBA Convention at Pullman Plaza Hotel, Huntington, West Virginia, Saturday, April 21, 2007, and was recognized by the College Media Advisers, Inc. with the 1995 Distinguished 4-Year Broadcast Adviser Award.

Workshop session Covering Sports

Dan Hollis is an associate professor and interim assistant dean in the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism and Mass Communications at Marshall University. Among the courses Hollis teaches at Marshall are Media Literacy and Law of Mass Communications. Professor Hollis has won many awards for both his professional creative work and his teaching, including National Broadcasting Society’s Best Video News Story for six out of the past seven years. He was chosen as the 2012 West Virginia Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. He has been with the university since 1999.

Workshop session Interpretation of the law surrounding student press


Associate Professor Rebecca Johnson is a Kentucky native who joined the faculty of the School of Journalism and Mass Communications at Marshall University in 1976. She attended Dabney S. Lancaster Community College and Ohio State University before completing both bachelor’s and master’s degrees in journalism at Marshall. In addition, Professor Johnson attended Ohio University where she completed doctoral course work in law and responsibility, international journalism, and history with a minor in sociology. Twice named a “Fabulous Faculty Member” by PHI ETA SIGMA, The National Honor Society, Professor Johnson has taught a variety of courses including photojournalism, news reporting, fundamentals of writing and editing, computer-assisted reporting, research and information gathering, magazine writing, magazine editing and production, and international communication. Currently her teaching focus includes digital imaging, web strategies, web design and multimedia reporting. A magazine writer, photographer and consultant, she worked as a newspaper copy editor, resort photographer, horse trainer and riding instructor. When not on campus, Professor Johnson hangs out with my husband, J.P. (not Johnson), their pack of dogs and a couple aged pet horses. “I love the southwest desert and the Outer Banks, read lots of books, do a little stained glass and never watch TV,” she said.

Workshop Session Photography


Dr. Chris Swindell is an associate professor of journalism and a veteran television reporter and anchor who teaches television, ethics, history and graduate classes for what will be a seventh year at Marshall. Swindell earned his Ph.D. in 2006 in communication at the University of Kentucky. He has had teaching stints at four other institutions of higher learning, all in Kentucky from 1992 to 2006. Dr. Swindell lives in Teays Valley with wife Kim, workshop participant Kelly, and best dog, Skittles.

Workshop Session Ethics and photo manipulation

Sandy York is an assistant professor in the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism and Mass Communications at Marshall University and faculty adviser of The Parthenon, Marshall’s student newspaper. She teaches news reporting, editing and design and media sales. She has been at Marshall University since 1998.

Workshop Session Design I

Ruby Dyer recently retired from Wayne High School after 38 years teaching journalism and English. She has a B.A. and a M.A.J. from Marshall University. She was the adviser of the award-winning Pioneer newspaper and yearbook. Dyer has been named a distinguished alumna of the School of Journalism and was inducted into its Hall of Fame. She was Wayne County Teacher of the Year in 2009 and was one of six state finalists for state Teacher of the Year. She has also been named a finalist in the Yearbook Adviser of the Year. She was the West Virginia Journalism Teacher of the Year in 1985. She is married to Kenneth Dyer, who works for Chapman Printing, and is the mother of two sons, Caleb, who teaches at Wayne High School; and Kyle, the 2008 W. Page Pitt Journalist of the Year. 

Workshop Session  Writing Features


 Tammy Reynolds manages the office of the School of Journalism and Mass Communications. She has worked at Marshall University for 12 years and has a masters degree in Adult and Technical Education.

No comments:

Post a Comment